Is it just me or is everyone struggling financially, right now? I've been trying to wrap my mind around how is it that I can work almost 30 hours every single month in overtime and yet my paycheck is still gone in less than a week after it hits my account?!! I havent done anything different, I have the same expenses as I did a year ago, however, these (same) expenses seem to have tripled from what they were last year this time. Its baffling! So now, I've cut off the cell phones, the cable and the internet and have paid off any/all one-off bills that have 'popped up'. I'm thinking that I should start over in the new year with a fresh outlook on my finances. Its been challenging without the things that have become such an intricate part of my life, however...its worth the sacrifice.
One of my biggest fears is to not have the means to take care of my kid if an emergency occurs. I was raised to put aside money for a rainy day....this fuckin recession is the rainy day they were talking about and I dont even have a pair of fucking rainboots - let alone a gotdamn umbrella!!!! What am I doing wrong????
I work and work to try and obtain the things I need to take care of my son, meanwhile, he's craving more and more attention. If I give up working as hard as I do, I risk putting myself in a bigger hole, then I wont be anybody's friend...I'll turn into Oscar the Grouch from King Street...(the one from Sesame Street wont have shit on me)